Adjusting to my new way of living

Salam w.b.t and hello all,

Honestly, I have been wanting to abandon this site for good. It is a bit difficult for me nowadays to find a compelling reason to share anything here. I also not sure if this is relevant anymore because many people nowadays shared through much more instant media. For example, Facebook, Instagram, especially TikTok, which garnered billions of users.

However, these instant media does not reflect myself clearly. The closest one that I can properly convey myself is through writing, which is here. Also, I realised it has been challenging for me to remain focus. I think, I am now have been getting used to all the externalities – social media, Youtube, radio, phones, Netflix, etc. These distractions hardly keep my mind to myself even though none is around me. I definitely need to learn to control this.

Right…what I want to write this time?

Firstly, Alhamdulillah. I have been back working in Malaysia since October. For the first 1-2 months, it was hectic. Why I said that? Mostly related to logistic of my belonging from Qatar to Malaysia, settling down at my home which was empty like a cave, also going to the rig and working.

I think I have shared previously that my house is a couple of houses away from my mother. I have been cleaning the house, and in stage, fill up with essentials – washing machine, fridge, cupboard, bookshelve, dining table, and bed. I haven’t buy the cooking stove yet, so I still have to go to my mother’s to get food. Sometimes, I just buy instant food like bread, takeaway etc. I am still adjusting though, managing my life daily and financially.

I was back from a job in Brunei on 14th January. It is nearly 2.5 weeks I am at home, including mandatory quarantine. So far, I am still adjusting to the calmness. You know, back in Qatar my mind and body has been 100% in working mode. Let me give you an example, once I take off from KLIA bound for Doha, I have left all emotional baggage, personal commitments, anything non-related to work, I left it at the airport. So, when I landed in Qatar I will be in working mode. None set myself like that, but it was automatically done by my mind. The job nature itself has brainwashed myself like that.

Now, I find myself in a weird situation. I find it weird because I strongly believe I am not used to this. Mainly, I will need to juggle between work, and normal human routine. Normal human routine meaning paying bills, cleaning the house, cook, visit and help my mother, talking to my sisters frequently, catch up with friends, have neighbours who are talking random things daily, seeing cats, neighbour kids running around the hood, house chores, I am throwing the garbage out, and the list goes on…For you, these things might be normal, for me it took me some time to adjust and I am still readjusting to many of these. After nearly 6 years working and living in isolation from civilization, believe me you will feel the same as well. Maybe the degree of awkwardness may not be the same.

I would say I am also in transitioning to the office work, basically I am working from home while waiting for the next assignment. I find it also hard. How is the people juggling between, “This is working time” and “This is home time” when you are physically working from home. How did you separate this? I am single, not married, and no other commitments. Therefore, the difficulty to separate this is not the same to those who are married especially with kids.

As of now, I am trying slowly and not putting myself under too much pressure. I take it easy. Besides, the operation is not that busy.

May be an image of 5 people, people sitting and outdoors
During Chinese New Year holiday, went to White Water Rafting with my siblings.
First Book Hauling for 2022 from Online Big Bad Wolf. All of this is less than RM60, which is very cheap.

I am also working on several things at the moment, which is good as this keeps me occupy as well.

For a long term achievement, I haven’t decided what I want to reach really. Basically, I do not have 2022 resolutions. I am not sure if I should make it now, as I am doing day-by-day basis to keep me moving.

I think this will be it for now. I am glad I am still able to write something and share here.

Take care for now and see you again on next entry. Hopefully, not too far away.

P/S – I had Covid-19 booster shot last week on Wednesday, it was AstraZeneca together with my mother at the PPV held by Schlumberger. The side effect was brutal. I had headache, my muscles were so much in pain, the joints, from waist down cramped like period pain. Well, double that period pain. It went on for two days before it got better. Alhamdulillah, now I am fine.

Leave a comment