I am home

Salam w.b.t and hello dear readers,

Ah man…..it has been awhile…Currently, I am writing from the comfort of quarantine facility in Petaling Jaya. Finally, I am safely arrived in Malaysia on 22nd May, around 8AM local time. Therefore, today is the sixth day and another 8 days to go to complete my quarantine.

Alhamdulillah, I am grateful for all the blessings

  • Able to travel home – Supposedly travel on 20th, but I got bumped from check in as the rules change, need PCR result prior travel. I had to reschedule and finally depart on 21st night after receiving the result on the same day.
  • Safely arrived in country – It was quite a bumpy ride in some part of the journey due to weather
  • Fully vaccine now – I am now fully vaccinated while I was in Qatar. I had Pfizer, my first shot was on 28th April and the second shot followed three weeks after, 19th May, exactly one day after I got off the rig. Honestly, I did not experience any side effects from either of both shots. Only the stiff arm and the stiffness gone after 2 days. Don’t worry folks.
  • The latest job of the rig I got off, I am so glad I was having good partner in the same shift. Similarly on the job previous this, I was offshore with the very best crew. It was insanely relieving experience for me compared to early of this year where I worked with a “depressed-panicky” crew for 5 months straight at demanding land rig. It was mentally draining where the crew you have on the same shift – panic, serious, no joke, very poorly communication/interaction. It was not enjoyable at all as I had to spend 12 hours for continuous 3 weeks working like this, and repeated the same for 5 months. Very depressing.
  • I am healthy physically, whereas mentally-wise I am honestly exhausted. I am aware of my state and that’s why I am very determined to leave Qatar. I know two weeks quarantine could also draining my mental state, therefore I am trying to get myself ready.

Before leaving Qatar, I bought enough biscuits, junk foods, instant noodles, cereal, wash powder, etc. I learned from my experience of government quarantine last year. Still, this time still have some unexpected situations.

Last year it was an apartment completed with living room, kitchen, bedroom with acceptable good internet. My expectation was it will be the same but it a small room. On top of that, the internet is very slow and I am unable to connect straight to the internet whenever I checked my phone. I think it is because a very-cheap-hotspot. During the first day, definitely no internet and the hotel advised they could buy a simcard with internet which the guests can use. I wanted to buy it, then sometimes later after midnight the phone connected to the internet, but not the laptop.

Fine, as long as I can connect to mobile it is ok.

Did I tell you, I did not tell my mother or sisters that I am travelling home. I only called my mother after I figured the internet at the hotel is very poor, just in case she tried to contact me and I am nowhere to be found. Actually, I did not call her. I had to call the receptionist and she called my mother, and my mother called back the hotel before directed to my hotel room. During this process, my mother did not aware it was me as she misheard it was a call from the hospital.

Eventually she successfully recognized my voice. Hehehehe….

Well, here I am in Malaysia.

That’s the update from me and I will post another updates, hopefully soon.

On a different note, please register yourself and get yourself vaccinated. I don’t understand why it is no fake news circulated in particular in Malaysia. The fake news is so fake, as well as dumb and yet people still buy it. Please get yourself accurate information and share it across.

Take care and see you next time. Salam w.b.t.

P/S – I have no definitive date to return back to Qatar. There is no need for me to think about it yet. I am unable to load any pictures here, as you know internet is very limited.

Leave a comment