It will be for good

Salam w.b.t and hello dear readers,

I know, I know. I have been inconsistently updating this blog. As usual there are many events took place since the last update I shared with you.

This time, I would like to share one major event that will take place soon.

This is not a sudden movement, I have planned for this since early of this year. In March 2021, I formally requested for transfer.

I will be transferring back and work with Schlumberger Malaysia.

Let me bring you to 2-3 years back sometimes in 2017 or 2018. I remember, when I had my first promotion to Grade 09 Field Engineer I told my manager, I am going to transfer home once I get my Grade 10. However, things did not go as planned I got my Grade 10 promotion in 2019 and Covid-19 hit the world. So I hold up my intention deep in my heart and tried my best to survive working in Qatar while protecting myself against this deadly virus. However, early of 2021 things have gone too much for me. Continuously working at land rig with no variation in job assignment, working with some anxious personnel, shared the room with one guy at land rig for 3 weeks, extremely poor living conditions coupled with Covid-19 restrictions. Between the jobs was 4-5 days break in between, and still I had to go to the base working my ass off as some engineers got positive Covid-19. I shared with you some details of this in entry.

On top of that, by March 2021 I will be 6 months away from home. I called my mother from time to time to ask how is she doing, she always said everything is fine, all good. In fact, I know that I can only know for sure if we talk face to face and see everything myself. That is her way of trying to avoid me being worried while I am far from home. I cannot help myself from being worried at all time even though she said, “Everything is fine”.

The only morning I saw some clouds in the sky. It is summer here in Qatar and the heat has been unforgiven.

In March, I also planned to go home in April and I doubt I can even go in April due to demanding operations in Qatar. “Operation first”, that is what one a**hole so called manager said to me. Nevertheless, I sent an email to my manager basically I would like to transfer home and go home in April, and it will be great if my departure in April is for good. I don’t have to return to Qatar. At the same time, I was working for my next promotion, Grade 11 but really, I don’t see any points of promotion and my motivation is down the toilet bowl.

It was a long story, but I will summarise it now. After some talkings, I will transfer home in August which they will support me but I need to complete my Grade 11 promotion before going home. On my part, I still wanted to take a real vacation by going home. I cannot stretch by working my ass of up to August which was indirectly requested by the dumb coordinator. I already explained to him, it is real tough for me to stay focus on work, avoiding making any mistakes so far and expectation to stretch my working duration another 4 months will be way too much. Dear readers, you need to understand, if a personnel make a human error while working the consequence is real bad. I have been there. Importantly, my mental wellbeing and motivation were at really low point and this affect my health as well. I could not sleep even when I was physically tired. In normal times, when I was really, really tired I can fall asleep straight away and sleep deeply. But not for the last couple of months between Dec until March. I was anxious and worried for various things at all time. This has make me exhausted and grumpy.

Therefore, it is best for me to leave. I already make some calculations if I decided to resign (worse come to worse) will I be able to support my living. It is tight, but I can. After discussing with an old friend in Malaysia, he advised try to work on my transfer first. He is an ex-SLB and he understands very well the working conditions in SLB so he did not drill much about why, why, and why. He shared his perspective and advise. I agreed, I better work on my transfer first.

Claudia and I, finished our Grade 11 presentation on the same day

I made up my mind, complete my Grade 11 promotion and transfer home. These are two things propelled me, nothing else. I tried to cut all the emotional feeling to people I work with here in Qatar, which I really appreciate meeting them. I need to move on from this place. I have seen some people stayed here for many years, and I would prefer to move somewhere else.

At this moment, I have completed my Grade 11 promotion and I am on my last hitch in Qatar (land rig off course, where else I can go here). As for now pending the new assignment letter before I off to Malaysia. I am holding to their words, to get me out in August which is now. However, I will try to be patient and wait till end of this month.

That’s about me for now. Take care and see you all later in the next entry.

Salam w.b.t.

P/S – When I am not on the job, I have been running, cycling, do weight exercise at the gym. It feels really good I can feel the sweat. I finally watched the Quiet Place Part 2, it was amazing!

Leave a comment